Letter from Pastor John 6/17/20

Rightly Dividing the Word of Truth

 

“Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved by him, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” (NRSV)

Dear friends,

Someone once asked, “How can we ‘rightly divide the word of truth’ when our Sunday Scripture lessons skip so much of it?” As I pondered this question, I realized that this approach misses the point. The Bible is to be read by God’s people, for God’s people. What we read publicly in church is important. The reading and proclamation of Scripture by the church keeps us grounded in the faith. However, we need to be immersed in Scripture throughout the week! Sunday morning worship was never intended to feed us all that we need to know about the Bible in order to grow as disciples of Jesus Christ. Sunday worship nourishes us so that we can continue our growth throughout the week.

That is why the Sunday lessons are surrounded by daily lessons. These are what I publish and send to you below on a regular basis. Of course the Sunday Scripture readings aren’t enough. Neither is an hour of worship on Sunday… God has called us, as disciples, to be immersed in his holy Word each and every day. That is why we have daily readings to supplement Sunday readings, and Bible studies to supplement Sunday preaching, and all-week-long Christian friendships to live out the fellowship we have in Christ, and all-week-long mission activity to express God’s mission to us!

The number one step in rightly dividing the word of truth? Read it. Daily. Number two? Live it. Together.

God’s richest blessings,

Pastor John

 

 

Daily Scripture Readings, June 16-July 21

Tuesday, June 16
1 Samuel 3:1-9
2 Thessalonians 2:13-3:5
Psalm 105:1-11, 37-45

Wednesday, June 17
Proverbs 4:10-27
Luke 6:12-19
Psalm 105:1-11, 37-45

Thursday, June 18
Jeremiah 18:12-17
Hebrews 2:5-9
Psalm 69:7-18

Friday, June 19
Jeremiah 18:18-23
Acts 5:17-26
Psalm 69:7-18

Saturday, June 20
Jeremiah 20:1-6
Luke 11:53-12:3
Psalm 69:7-18

Sunday, June 21
Jeremiah 20:7-13
Psalm 69:7-18
Romans 6:1b-11 (Used in worship)
Matthew 10:24-39 (Used in worship)

Monday, June 22
Micah 7:1-7
Revelation 2:1-7
Psalm 6

Tuesday, June 23
Jeremiah 26:1-12
Revelation 2:8-11
Psalm 6

Wednesday, June 24
Jeremiah 38:1-13
Matthew 10:5-23
Psalm 6

Thursday, June 25
Jeremiah 25:1-7
Galatians 5:2-6
Psalm 89:1-4, 15-18

Friday, June 26
Jeremiah 25:8-14
Galatians 5:7-12
Psalm 89:1-18

Saturday, June 27
Jeremiah 28:1-4
Luke 17:1-4
Psalm 89:1-18

Sunday, June 28
Jeremiah 28:5-9
Psalm 89:1-18
Romans 6:12-23 (Used in worship)
Matthew 10:40-42 (Used in worship)

Monday, June 29
1 Kings 21:1-16
1 Thessalonians 4:9-12
Psalm 119:161-168

Tuesday, June 30
1 Kings 21:17-29
1 John 4:1-6
Psalm 119:161-168

Wednesday, July 1
Jeremiah 18:1-11
Matthew 11:20-24
Psalm 119:161-168

Thursday, July 2
Zechariah 1:1-6
Romans 7:1-6
Psalm 145:8-14

Friday, July 3
Zechariah 2:6-13
Romans 7:7-20
Psalm 145:8-14

Saturday, July 4
Zechariah 4:1-7
Luke 10:21-24
Psalm 145:8-14

Sunday, July 5
Zechariah 9:9-12
Psalm 145:8-14
Romans 7:15-25a (Used in worship)
Matthew 11:16-19, 25-30 (Used in worship)

Monday, July 6
Jeremiah 27:1-11, 16-22
Romans 1:18-25
Psalm 131

Tuesday, July 7
Jeremiah 28:10-17
Romans 3:1-8
Psalm 131

Wednesday, July 8
Jeremiah 13:1-11
John 13:1-17
Psalm 131

Thursday, July 9
Isaiah 48:1-5
Romans 2:12-16
Psalm 65

Friday, July 10
Isaiah 48:6-11
Romans 15:14-21
Psalm 65

Saturday, July 11
Isaiah 52:1-6
John 12:44-50
Psalm 65

Sunday, July 12
Isaiah 55:10-13
Psalm 65
Romans 8:1-11
Matthew 13:1-9, 18-23

Monday, July 13
Leviticus 26:3-20
1 Thessalonians 4:1-8
Psalm 92

Tuesday, July 14
Deuteronomy 28:1-14
Ephesians 4:17-5:2
Psalm 92

Wednesday, July 15
Proverbs 11:23-30
Matthew 13:10-17
Psalm 92

Thursday, July 16
Isaiah 41:21-29
Hebrews 2:1-9
Psalm 86:11-17

Friday, July 17
Isaiah 44:9-17
Hebrews 6:13-20
Psalm 86:11-17

Saturday, July 18
Isaiah 44:18-20
Matthew 7:15-20
Psalm 86:11-17

Sunday, July 19
Isaiah 44:6-8 (Used in worship)
Psalm 86:11-17 (Used in worship)
Romans 8:12-25
Matthew 13:24-30, 36-43 (Used in worship)

Monday, July 20
Nahum 1:1-13
Revelation 14:12-20
Psalm 75

Tuesday, July 21
Zephaniah 3:1-13
Galatians 4:21-5:1
Psalm 75

Leave a Comment